Skip to content

The Edward Thomas Poetry Competition 2022

Edward Thomas Fellowship Poetry Competition 2022, the Edward Cawston Thomas prize.

The Edward Thomas Fellowship is pleased to announce the launch of the 2022 Edward Thomas Fellowship Poetry Competition for the Edward Cawston Thomas prize.

The judges report and winning poems from 2021 are now accessible further down this page.

For the 2022 Competition, poems are invited on any subject but of no more than forty lines please. Closing date January15th, 2022. The judge will be the prize-winning poet Jamie McKendrick.

Prizes:1st prize  £150, two further £75 prizes and up to six highly commended of £25

Fees £3 per poem with a maximum of three poems each.

Entries may be made by post or email.

Postal entries. Please make cheques payable to the Edward Thomas Fellowship and send with your details and the anonymised poem(s) to Margaret Thompson, 66 Fairacres Road, Oxford, OX4 1TG.

Email entries. Send each poem as a Word document with a single attachment per poem.

Surname A- M; please send to Barbara Kinnes,

Surname N-Z; please send to Margaret Thompson,

Fees may be paid to the Fellowship’s account: Sort Code 40-08-21; Account No 11250205. Please use your initials and surname as Reference, competition as Description, or by Paypal.

Please be aware that the Fellowship has to pay a transaction charge on payments by PayPal and, now, cheques at 40 pence per item. If you are able to pay by bank transfer that is our preferred option and saves the Fellowship up to 10% per transaction in fees. Thank you.

PayPal Acceptance Mark

No of Poems entered

2021 Competition Report and Winning Poems

Please be aware that, although there is a new judge this year you may still read the report of Jane Draycott (last year’s competition judge) here. Last year’s winning poem can be read here, and the runners up here and here respectively.

Details of winning poems and the judge’s report from earlier years are available here.

Readers may also be interested in purchasing this anthology of previous winning poems from the competition (2017-2019) – more details and purchase information are available here.